In Texas, some students are able to earn one or more “endorsements” as part of their graduation requirements. Endorsements include a related series of courses that are grouped together by interest or skill set. They provide students with in-depth knowledge of a subject area.

Students must select an endorsement in the ninth grade from one of five areas:

1) Science/Technology/Engineering/Math
2) Business and Industry
3) Public Service
4) Arts and Humanities
5) Multi-disciplinary Studies

Until recently, students receiving special education services have not been allowed to have courses modified to earn an endorsement. A new law now permits an ARD Committee to adjust curriculum for a student if it determines the change does not alter the required educational outcomes (referred to as academic rigor) of the coursework.

To learn more about this new law, watch the video below from Disability Rights Texas.